conductor Maestro Patrizio Esposito

D. Shostakovich Festive Ouverture Op.96

M. Ellerby Clarinet Concerto*    
solo clarinet Fabrizio Nori

M. Ellerby Paris Sketches* 
Saint Germain de Prés - Pigalle - Père Lachaise   
M. Markovsky Instinctive Travels*

G. Rossini L´Italiana in Algiers - Ouverture

G.Rossini Guglielmo Tell - Ouverture                                     

*we thank Maestro Marcello Candela for his precious piano collaboration 

Dmitri Shostakovich
Festive Ouverture Op.96

Shostakovich wrote the Festive Ouverture in honor of the thirtieth anniversary of the October Revolution in 1947, completing his composition in 1954. The absolute first performance took place on the occasion of the thirty-seventh anniversary of the October Revolution, on November 6th, 1954 at the Bol´soj Theater of Moscow, with on the podium Aleksandr Melik-Pasa´ev. The Festive Ouverture opens with the brass band (Allegretto) followed by the Presto with alternation of the interventions of strings and winds, still vigorous in the broad volume of sound. The horn and cello solo exhibits a large-scale theme that is elaborated and then taken up by the entire orchestra. Shortly before the conclusion another brass band joins the vast instrumental group, increasing the clang with male authoritativeness in the Coda. This effective work celebrated the XXII Olympic Games in Moscow in 1980.

Martin Ellerby 
Clarinet Concerto    

After a series of solo instrument compositions, Ellerby finally writes an entire clarinet concert dedicated to Linda Merrick who first performed it on the December 3rd, 2000 at the Gateways Performing Arts Centre in Harewood. The concert consists of three movements with the classic alternation allegro, calmo, rondò. The second half presents more than a moment in which the soloist has the opportunity to be in the spotlight with free cadences. The first tempo is a tribute to American minimalism, the final movement feels the effect of jazz influences for an interesting journey into our modern language guided by the soloist’s skill.

Martin Ellerby
Paris Sketches   

"This work is my personal tribute to a city that I love, and every movement considers a part of the city, referring to the composers who lived there, worked there or simply passed by ..."
These are Ellerby’s words which introduce this work divided into 4 sections, each entitled to a Parisian neighborhood, and so there is Saint-Germain-de-Prés followed by Pigalle, then Père Lachaise and finally Les Halles. And here these places are inhabited by echoes of musicians’ works associated with them because they lived or worked in one of these places and so we meet Ravel, Strawinsky-Prokofiev, Satie and finally Berlioz. A portrait of Paris that has made people dream and still makes so many people dream due to its vitality and irresistible charm.

Michael Markowski 
Instinctive Travels

He is a music composer for films and symphony, orchestra, band, and chamber groups. He was very young when he called public attention by winning prestigious prizes including the Frank Ticheli Composition Contest. His composition, Instinctive Travels, is a brilliant excursion through an exciting sense of rhythm and a kaleidoscopic use of the orchestra’s colors. His music is crossed by different influences ranging from the musical to hip hop, an example of a generation that lets itself be contaminated without fear, thus Markowski gives us completely original results with fresh music, full of energy.

Gioacchino Rossini
L´Italiana in Algeri - Ouverture

Represented for the first time in Venice in 1813, L´Italiana in Algeri was composed in a prodigiously short time, it seems twenty-seven days, and with that brilliant mastery typical of Rossini. The farce was treated with such paradoxical virtuosity and such an enthralling comic realism to represent a charge of vitality for Italian comic opera that revealed signs of fatigue. The symphony of this work constitutes its worthy musical preamble proposing very pleasant listening, with a pleasant initial andante, followed by a gushing and playful allegro. 

Gioacchino Rossini
William Tell - Ouverture                       

Represented in 1829, William Tell is the author’s last theatrical work. The flamboyant and colorful symphony, one of Rossini´s best-known compositions, is divided into four parts which include: an andante, an allegro which recalls with great effectiveness the storm´s fury, a new andante, and finally, an overwhelming, vivacious finale announced by blaring fanfare.


02 July
Teatro Romano
free event
access allowed after withdrawal of tickets. Tickets distributed starting Tuesday, June 19th at the Festival Box Office in Via della Filitteria, 1 (max 4 tickets per person)